Going Vegetarian for Lent – Day 46: The Finish Line

Day 46! The Finish Line! The challenge completed!  That’s right, 46 days ago, I made a commitment to give up meat for Lent.  The BBQ guy, who loves to grill and smoke brisket, pulled port, baby back ribs, burgers, brats, and anything else that tasted so good, went vegetarian.  One person asked me the other day “so what meat did you give up?”.  My response was “all meat”.  They seemed confused by this broad and vague answer.  Must have been incomprehensible for them to fathom not eating any kind of meat.  It was a great experience that I will cherish and likely continue forward.

I decided the last day would be a victory lap.  Like most of my previous live challenges like IronMan Triathlons or trail marathons, to name a few, the training is the hard part, and race day should be a “victory lap” that is enjoyed and a time of reflection.

I started off the day with a nice bowl of oatmeal with mixed berries and a splash of coconut to add a little sweetness.

IMG_0190

Lunch was at a local place specializing in wraps.  I opted for my standard chicken Wow Kung Pow wrap, but substituted tofu for the chicken.  Honestly, I think it tasted better with tofu and previous chicken versions.

IMG_0189

 

Dinner was again at a local Mexican pub and I opted for the “new” standby, potato tacos (hold the cheese).  Not that I’ve sworn off cheese or anything radical like that, I just think this version of taco tastes better without it.

IMG_0188

Well, the running has come to an end due to some knee issues, but I can honestly say I did a 5K everyday of Lent.  I made 49 days straight all together.  I was hoping for 50, but can’t risk everything on this one challenge.

My inspiration for this Lent season comes from my children, who have taught me one very important lesson.  Your never to old to learn something new.  I value their opinions and honor their individuality.  I also hope I honored the christian faith and made a small impact on the world by completing this challenge.  Thanks to everyone who supported me over the last 6+ weeks.

Now the question of “why” has to be answered.  I will address this in my final Easter Day recap.

Peace to all.

Leave a Reply

