Going Vegetarian for Lent – Day 43: Wok Night

My youngest came home from school today for Easter break, and was craving some home made favorites.  Pad Thai noodles is one of her favorites.  Perfect excuse to break out the wok.  Ever since getting the BGE and wok, it has become my absolute favorite way to cook vegetables.  Crisp, bright, fresh, fun, tasty, and awesome, are just a few of the words to describe the experience.

It’s really easy.  Fire up a large batch of lump charcoal in the Big Green Egg and prepare your veggies.  Once the fire is nice and hot, like 700deg (F) hot, put the wok in for about 15 min to come up to temperature.  Add in some peanut oil, swish it around to coat the sides of the wok, and let the magic begin.

IMG_0172

When the wok is this hot, you have to keep the food moving.  After about 4-5 min, I take the wok out and let it rest on the wok ring for about another minute or so to finish off the veggies.

IMG_0173

 

I also cooked some shrimp for the meaties in the family.  I used some olive oil, garlic, and lemon pepper seasoning on the shrimp.  Used the same cooking process as the veggies, but I have learned that it’s best to cook meat or fish after the veggies.  Keeps the wok cleaner doing multiple small veggie cooks.  Always keep the quantity small and do multiple cooks.

IMG_0169

I cooked the Pad Thai noodles in side to avoid the sticky sauce in my beloved wok (LOL).

I just can’t say enough great thinks about using this cooking style.  Short of some great pizza, using the wok is probably my favorite new BBQ device.

LOVE IT!

IMG_0166

This meal will definitely be a staple for years to come.  Endless possibilities to what you can cook in a wok that’s only restricted by your imagination.

I’m having some lingering knee issues from the 5K race last weekend, but managed to get run number 46 completed, with 4 more to go before some much needed rest.

With 3 days left in this years Lent season, I still don’t have any strong desires for meat.  It would have been nice to taste the shrimp to verify the seasoning, but the meaties gave it the thumbs up.

I’m not sure why I’m not freaking out about it.  Most other people are counting down the days they can have ice cream, or chocolate, or what ever they gave up and were successful in refraining from.  I have the upmost respect for anyone that sets a goal and completes it.  I guess that’s what has driven me this far.

I think most people succumb to temptation when they make a commitment that either haven’t thought through or it’s something their hearts really aren’t into.  This is the first time I have seriously done anything for Lent.  I always thought it wasn’t necessary to give up superficial things just to say I did it.

But this year was different.  There was something calling me to participate.  To test my morals, faith, and push into the uncomfortable zone.  As it is written in James,

James 1:2-3
Consider it all joy, my brethren, when you encounter various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces endurance.

So yes, giving up meat may seem like a trivial thing to some, but for the BBQ guy, it was a big leap of faith.  And the endurance to carry on past the 46 day trial period is definitely there.

Peace to all.

 

Leave a Reply

