Going Vegetarian for Lent: Days 34-35 Vegan Style

Now that I am inside 2 weeks to go, I’m trying to cut out dairy and eggs for the diet.  Eggs and cheese were pretty much a staple in my pre-Lent daily food intake, it stopped me dead in my tracks a couple of times, as I reached for something to eat.  I did get hooked up with some non-dairy butter and cream cheese.  Guess its like the first time you drink beer “Its and acquired taste”.  Butter is fine, but the cream cheese is a little sour tasting compared to what I’m used too.

Lunches usually consist of a quick PBJ sandwich, vegan chips, and some fruit.  I wasn’t feeling the usual, so broke out the vegan mayo, and concocted a nice avocado BLT sandwich.  Avocado, spinach, lettuce, cucumbers, tomato, vegan cream cheese, and toasted Ezekiel bread. Hit the spot.

I was tight on time for dinner the last couple days.  Got to love a quick veggie and rice bowl and left over veggie chili on baked potato.  Simple, quick to prepare, and super filling.

Overall, its been going ok without the dairy and eggs.  100% plant-based does make for some adjustments in planning, especially around breakfast.  I made some nice oatmeal with walnuts and maple syrup.

IMG_0140

Like no one has ever seen a picture of oatmeal LOL.  All good as I push to the finish line.  Speaking of which, while the finish line for Lent is coming into sight, I’m really not sure what happens after that.  Do I go back to the old ways?  Time will tell, but I do have a new appreciation for cooking something other than meat on the grill.

Two more 5K’s in the books.  Getting stronger each day now that some of my physical issues are resolving themselves.  Running everyday takes discipline and you need to have some easy days in order to recover for the hard days.  Just like working or anything else you do.

Inspiration for the days ahead comes from Romans 12 – 2 (ESV) Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.

Pushing the limits is my mantra.  Good or bad, it’s just how I am wired.

Peace to all.

Leave a Reply

