Going Vegetarian for Lent – Days 22/23: Losing Track of Time

I seem to be loosing track of time as I traverse the Plant-based landscape.  Hours turn to days, days to weeks, and so on.  Guess that is a good thing.  It must signal this is becoming more of the norm than the exception.  I crossed over the halfway point to Lent, with no major breakdowns.

I have been feeling a bit off.  Maybe its the crazy weather, or just not feeling like cooking anything special.  Guess the honeymoon is over and the reality of day to day culinary decisions is upon me.

Wednesday was simple foods.  Oatmeal with nuts and banana for breakfast.  PBJ for lunch with some fruit.  Butternut squash and egg plant marinara and salad for dinner.

By Thursday, I was feeling a bit out of it.  The afternoon “crashes” were becoming regular, so I figured something was off.  Protein deficiency, too many carbs/sugar, not enough calories?

So, more of the good and less of the bad.  Potatoes and eggs for breakfast.  Grilled cheese with avocado for lunch.  It was actually vegan (I think) since I used vegan mayo instead of butter on the outside of the sandwich to grill it.  It was really good.  Dinner was spinach and kale pasta.  I ate the whole thing!

The runs the last few days have been a struggle.  Feel totally disconnected between RPE and pace.  I know what real fatigue feels like, and while what I’m experiencing seems to match, the shear volume of running shouldn’t be this hard.  Work in progress trying to dial in the issue.

Found some inspiration in 1 Corinthians 10:13 (ESV) – No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man. God is faithful, and he will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation he will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it.

Peace to all.

Leave a Reply

