Going Vegetarian for Lent – Day 14: 2 Weeks In.

Yep, that’s right, I made it 2 weeks with no meat.  As with most changes or challenges, its easy to make short term changes, but the long haul is what separates the wannabe’s from the committed.

Got to say, it hasn’t been that difficult so far, but its like the old saying “wait till the honeymoon is over..”.  I’m breaking this 47 day adventure down in to multiple 2-week phases.  Phase 1 is over and its time to figure out how to up the game so I don’t get bored.

I’ve tried to stay true to my grilling roots, exploring new culinary options, and finding out if being vegetarian is something that I can adopt long term.  So far, the only thing I’m feeling some desire for is burgers and brisket.  Not feeling the need for other meats like chicken, turkey, or pork.  I’ve eaten eggs frequently, but sorta loosing my taste for them right now.  Maybe cause my previous diet was heavy with them.

Overall, a little easier than I expected.  Easy to find things to make, eat out, and since I love bread, I’ve been loading up.  This brings up the issue I’ve heard from others on this track or even the diehard vegans.  Sugar and sweets can be the biggest down fall.

Now that I’m starting to get a handle on this lifestyle, its time to focus on the nutrient content.  I’ve been running everyday, but will be upping the game and getting back into triathlon training soon.  There are vegan Ironmen out there, so I know its possible.

Here’s a quick view of my favorite’s so far.

Peace and cherish the simpler things in life.

Leave a Reply

