Going Vegetarian for Lent – Day 13: Taco Monday?

Taco Monday?  Doesn’t sound right.  Think it’s usually Taco Tuesday. But who doesn’t love tacos regardless of what night it is.  Especially potato taco’s.  Which by the way, are quickly becoming my favorite variety.  I posted last week about obtaining some potato tacos at a local eatery, which are pretty darn good.  Now it was time to venture into the kitchen and try my hand at this delectable treat.

Warning, making a full-blown taco dinner with all the fixings will absolutely destroy your kitchen.  I think we used about every pan and cooking device we own to get it all done.  But got to say it was worth it.

In addition to both potato tacos (for me) and beef tacos for the family, there was Spanish rice, Mexican street corn, refried vegetarian pinto beans, chips and salsa, and vegan nacho cheese.   The vegan nacho cheese recipe looked interesting, so I made that earlier in the day.  Can’t say it really tasted like “cheese”, but was a nice addition to the tacos.

Looking around for a good “potato”recipe that spoke to me, I landed on one from whereyougetyourprotein.  Interesting setup of spices.  It called for Italian and Adobo seasonings.  Never heard of Adobo seasoning before, so I had to try that for sure.  Followed the recipe best I could, given the ingredients on hand, and the potatoes came out great. Mine sure weren’t as pretty as the ones you’ll find at the link above, but hey, I’m in it for the taste.  Never said I was a pro at this!

I used some left over grilled red peppers from yesterday’s humus project to round out the dish.

IMG_0057

While that was cooking away, I grilled up the corn.  My daughter put together the “street corn” concoction that we applied to the hot corn right before serving.  Not sure of the exact recipe, but it was very similar to this one from serious eats.

Building the final potato taco was more like assembling a 5 story tostada.  Grilled corn tortilla with vegetarian refried beans as the base, added the potato, then tomatoes, lettuce, avocado, vegan nacho cheese, and some medium heat salsa.  Add in the grilled corn, and rice and it was a full on banquet.  Some of the best I’ve made, period.

Another day of running in the books and I’m finally getting my rhythm back.  You know that feeling of “I really don’t want to do it, but know how great I will feel when I’m done”.  Yea, that’s the one!

Why do Mondays always seem harder than the rest of the week? Especially the day after turning the clocks forward for day light savings time, and loosing that precious hour of sleep that you never seem to get back.

Monday’s are just like any other day.  Make of them what you want.  Psalms 118:24 (ESV) – This is the day that the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.

Peace and enjoy the little things in life, everyday.

 

 

Leave a Reply

