Going Vegetarian for Lent – Day 8: Mojo is back

Starting out week 2 of my meatless challenge, I seriously needed a spiritual boost.  I had to get back on the grill.  So, break out the cast iron and stoke up the lump I did.  Time for some veggie chili and skillet corn bread.

Just what the mental doctor ordered.  I follow a great recipe from cookieandkate for the base of my chili.  I’ve dabbled in veggie chili before, and as I suspected, the actual spices vary from meat-based chili.  Just saying – don’t throw a package of XX Texas chili seasoning from the grocery store and put it on a bunch of beans and veggies.

I used a dutch oven on the grill.  Got it up to temp, sautéed the diced carrots, celery, onions, red pepper, garlic and spices.  Added in the rest of the stuff and let it brew.

End result (drum roll please….) Fantastic.  And that added touch of apple wood smoke from the BGE sealed the deal.

While the chili was brewing, I went for some classic skillet cornbread.  If you’re  looking for a great scratch cornbread recipe then who other than Pioneer Women.  Oh yea, you know its going to be good.  Per the instructions, I stove-topped it on the BGE for the first couple of minutes then finished it in the oven at 450deg.  I would have liked to finish in on my egg, but skillet handle was too long to fit.  AMAZING as expected.

IMG_0038

Like I said, just what the doc ordered.  I was really hungry after running today, and needed some hearty fixin’s.  Plus I love to grill.  It’s my therapy.

Inspiration for today was about renewed outlook and remembering to take it one day at a time.   Ephesians 4:23 “and to be renewed in the spirit of your minds”.

One day at a time….

Leave a Reply

