Going Vegetarian for Lent – Day 7: Commitment

Well, I made it through the first week of no meat.  Today was a struggle to stay focused on the goal.  Life has a way clouding our vision.  That’s when it becomes easy to give in.  Not that I was having any real cravings for meat, but it’s tempting to fall back to old habits when your pressed for time.

I had to remind myself…. What am I trying to learn?  What is the payoff if I succeed?  What is the downside if I fail?  Who really cares?  Well, I care.

How many people use Lent as an excuse to try and forego something they know is not good for them, with no real repercussions if they give in.  How many times has someone made a pledge or commitment only to bail out.  I believe the reason people fail at commitments is they don’t have purpose.

For me, there is purpose in my commitment to give up meat for ~7 weeks.  The purpose is to walk in someone else’s shoes.  See the world from a different perspective.  Put myself outside my comfort zone.

Sure it would have been so easy to go get a burger for dinner.  Throw some chicken fingers in the oven, or throw a piece of beef on the grill for a quick cook.

You only get one shot at giving something up for Lent.  Your ether all in or all out.  There is no gray area.

So I scrounged through the fridge, found some tortillas, grabbed a black bean burger out of the freezer, and cooked up some shrooms real quick.  Let’s call it a “Black bean mushroom burger quesadilla”.  I put the left over black bean burger patty parts in a piece of lettuce with some cheese.  Lets call that “Black Bean Burger Lettuce Wrap”.

Hey, it filled me up and was actually pretty tasty.  Took less time to make than heating up the oven to throw in some frozen chicken, let alone cook it.

So yes, I met my culinary commitment and learned something about myself along the way.

Also got my 5K in on the treadmill after a long day of work.

Inspiration for the day comes from Galatians 6:9 – “And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up.”

Never losing site of “why” you made a commitment will go a long way toward success.

Peace to all.

Leave a Reply

